the world and its promises

The world told me lies and I accepted them.

The world told me truths and I believed them.

The world showed me reality and I ran from it.

Cast aside like a lukewarm presence was the desire for lesser than.

I remain bathed in greatness. At least that’s what the world tells me.

At least that’s what the world told me.

These days I don’t need validation from the world and yet I cast aside my pride and devour the culture.

The World OWES me.

The world owes me a feeling I can’t describe and a high I can’t come down from.

The world owes me more life and less damnation.

I watched the birds cry as my dreams faded.

Never again will I let the world owe me.

 

Leave a Reply

